Shairbearg’s Blog

Magic Powers

Posted on: March 28, 2010

It seems like my husband holds magic powers, either that or I am just not scary at all.

Tonight I heard my 2 older boys playing in their room instead of sleeping; they have bunk beds, and share a room now.  I went up and told them to get back in their beds, and no more fooling around and to go to sleep.   They just looked at me all doe-eyed, and laid back down with big smiles on their faces.  I left the room feeling quite sure that this was not going to be the last of the shananigans. 

I was right. 

I didn’t get down the stairs before it started again.  My husbad and I waited a few minutes, and then hubby went in to deal with them.  He basically said the same thing as  did, and as he walked out their was wailing!  He didn’t yell or anything, he just calmly told them all the same things Mommy just did, and the reaction was totally different. 

After about 5 minutes of crying, the house went silent, and they went to sleep.  So, as I lay on the couch, I began to ponder the following:

– do all parents have these magic powers, except me?
– is it just my hubby that has them, or all hubbies?

This is not the first time this type of thing has happened.  Many times at bed time, and during the day I will instruct, yell, physically move a child, and nothing makes them take me seriously.  The only time I say something and a child obediently moves without any sort of fuss is either when Daddy is right behind me, or I am telling them some sort of food is ready.

So am I alone in this?

6 Responses to "Magic Powers"

It’s the same thing here. My oldest listens to Dad, and I when I talk I might as well be talking to a wall.

Glad to know I am not the only one, but wish it wasn’t true for us either LOL.

That is normal…and one day it may flip on the dime and they’ll listen to you and not Jon. Don’t worry, there are no super powers involved. The boys don’t usually listen the first time I go down, but if they hear me on the stairs a second time…I usually don’t hear anything from that point on.

Thanks! I hope it does switch at some point, b/c I sometimes feel like I have better luck getting the cats to listen to me!

No I seriously believe that Jon has magic powers – lol

Ha ha you are probably right!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

PR & Affiliations

This is a PR friendly blog. If you have a product you would like Reviewed, please contact us at: theknitwitbyshair@hotmail.com AFFILIATIONS: Mabel's Labels - Labels for the stuff kids lose!

10% off at Little Dudes and Divas!!

The Boy’s Store

Grab My Button:


Follow Friday Hop - Every Friday a list of blogs to check out!:

Check out Mylikes - earn some money for saying why you like something:

Vote for me at Top Mommy Blogs

Follow on Twitter

Follow me on Networked blogs

My Rewards

Site Meter

