Shairbearg’s Blog

Product Review – Milk Bands

Posted on: April 26, 2010

Justin is my 3rd breastfed baby, and I have always gotten so confused as to which breast I had last nursed off of.  I tried many different tricks such as:

– a paper clip on the bra – that ended up scratching me or falling off

– leaving 1 side unclipped – except it would fall down if I was walking around

– just remembering – that only works for an hour or so, and then in the middle of the night or after a dozen feeds in a day I would be so confused. 

– I tried writing it down – except I would never feed near my journal and would forget to write them down

and I had done many more. 

Not to mention forgetting when I last fed the poor baby. 

I had a Kidsmart Party held by Jayda (Check out Jayda’s Kidsmart group on facebook), and they were selling Milk bands.  What appealed to me at the time was that it had right printed on one side and left printed on the opposite side, while I was nursing it would be on my wrist and all I had to do was reach over with my arm and flip it around.  That to me was worth buying it.

Here are the features as listed on www.milkbands.com

Milk Bands™ are a uniquely designed nursing bracelet that enables the mother to quickly and conveniently identify which breast she last used to feed her baby by simply turning the bracelet inside-out!

Milk Bands™ breastfeeding bracelets have time measuring sliders that can be used for multiple purposes such as tracking how long your baby fed or what time!

Milk Bands™ work regardless of which wrist they are worn on and are so easy to use it only takes one hand! Our breastfeeding bracelet works in the dark and can be worn during any and all activities!

When the time comes, Milk Bands™ can be used to help you wean your baby!

Let Milk Bands™ keep track of the basics so you can worry about more important things!

Milk Bands™ are available at your favorite maternity clothing stores, such as Motherhood Maternity and Destination Maternity.

I really do like my milk band, and it has made breastfeeding a non-thinking event for me, which is wonderful as I have enough on my mind.  Flipping it over is easy, and the sliders help me remember when I last fed him.  That is something that I didn’t think I needed, but I have found I sometimes think he just fed and realize it has been longer than I thought so I will wake him to feed him during the day.
The only negative things I found are the following: 
The sliders break fairly easily, which then eliminates one of the features.  I have broken 2 so far, and have had it about 1 month.  The good thing was that I went on the milk bands website, and found that they replace them for free, you just have to pay for shipping.  I ordered 2 sets and have went through 1 set already.
The other negative is, I find sometimes it can get caught on something and flip over thus making for some confusion.  I do usually notice it has done it and flip it back.  Although when it has got caught halfway through a flip I have had to try to remember which side I last fed on.
Overall I do recommend this product as the 2 potential problems were easily dealt with for me, and most of the time it made my life simplier having it. 
ETA: I actually no longer recommend this product, as the sliders break very easily,  or fall off.  It became more frustrating that it was worth to use.
2 Responses to "Product Review – Milk Bands"

Hi there, I could not find any means to email you, and so I really hope that you read this comment. I have a website about maternity trousers, and thought you would like to swap links with me. I have submitted my email address if you would like to get in contact. Thanks.

sent you an email 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

PR & Affiliations

This is a PR friendly blog. If you have a product you would like Reviewed, please contact us at: theknitwitbyshair@hotmail.com AFFILIATIONS: Mabel's Labels - Labels for the stuff kids lose!

10% off at Little Dudes and Divas!!

The Boy’s Store

Grab My Button:


Follow Friday Hop - Every Friday a list of blogs to check out!:

Check out Mylikes - earn some money for saying why you like something:

Vote for me at Top Mommy Blogs

Follow on Twitter

Follow me on Networked blogs

My Rewards

Site Meter

